McBride wins Mackey Award, named Walter Camp All-American

McBride wins Mackey Award, named Walter Camp All-American


December 9, 2021

CONTACT: Kyle Neaves, Associate Athletic Director for Communications

(228) 424-6921 |

McBride wins Mackey Award, named Walter Camp All-American

Senior tight end collects both honors as part of The Home Depot College Football Awards Show

FORT COLLINS, Colo.  – Trey McBride’s return to the Colorado State football program was predicated on one notion – to be the best tight end possible.

Mission accomplished.

The Fort Morgan, Colo., product continued to make history at Colorado State as the senior tight end was named the John Mackey Award winner on Thursday night as part of The Home Depot College Football Award show.

He joins Greg Myers as the only two CSU players to ever win a major national individual award; Myers won the Jim Thorpe Award in 1995 as the nation’s top defensive back.

The Mackey Award – presented annually to the top tight end in the country – went to the one finalist who truly exhibits the traits of the position, as McBride was the only one of the three candidates to take more than 50 percent of his snaps while connected to the offensive line (McBride was there 69.3 percent), not spread out. This season, McBride posted wide receiver numbers, hauling in 90 receptions for 1,121 yards, becoming the first CSU tight end to surpass 1,000 yards receiving in a single season, breaking the Mountain West record for yards by a tight end. The yardage ranks as the fifth-best season by an FBS tight end in history.

McBride becomes the first Mountain West tight end to win the Mackey Award and just the fifth player in conference history – along with San Diego State punter Matt Araiza, who won the Ray Guy Award tonight  — to win a major individual award, joining Jake Kirkpatrick (TCU, Remington Trophy, 2010); Jerry Hughes (TCU, Hendricks Award and Lott Trophy, 2009); and Luke Staley (BYU, Walker Award, 2001). 

During the show, broadcast on ESPN, McBride was also named a Walter Camp All-American, the first Ram to earn the honor since Michael Gallup in 2017, and just the fifth CSU player overall. Walter Camp is the first of the five organizations tracked to determine consensus and unanimous All-American status to be released. The others – the American Football Coaches Association, Associated Press, Football Writers Association of America and The Sporting News, will be released in the coming days.

Colorado State has had four consensus All-Americans in program history – Gallup, Myers, RashardHiggins, and Mike Bell – but has never had a unanimous selection. Consensus designation requires inclusion on three of the five selectors while unanimous requires first team on all five.

Other outlets have already highlighted McBride, a first-team All-Mountain West selection, with All-American designation, including Pro Football Focus and The Athletic (second team).

McBride was stellar throughout his career, but at his best in his final campaign. He leaves Colorado State as the most productive tight end in history, amassing 164 receptions for 2,100 yards and 10 touchdowns. His catches rank him fourth in a single season and seventh for a career; his yardage ranks eighth and ninth, respectively.

He posted six 100-yard receiving games in 2021 (tied for second-best in a season by a CSU target), giving him eight such games in his career, which ranks sixth.

Trey McBride All-American Tracker…

·         John Mackey Award Winner

·         Walter Camp Football Foundation, First Team

·         Pro Football Focus, First Team

·         Pro Football Network, First Team

·         Senior Bowl, First Team

·         The Athletic, Second Team

– –


Kyle Neaves

Associate Athletic Director for Communications

Colorado State University Athletics 

C: 228-424-6921